Syston Town Celebrate Successful Season

Syston Town Cricket Club celebrated a successful season at their annual dinner dance and presentation evening at Beedles Golf Club in November. It was a splendid occasion enjoyed by over 75 members and guests together with the club’s sponsors ‘Mitchell Storage & Distribution Ltd’ who kindly presented the trophies.
The first award was the presentation of the Challenge Cup to skipper Alan Beynon. This was won by the 2nd XI who defeated Leicester Caribbean in the final. The individual trophies were then presented as follows; for the 1st XI, the Archie Gandy Cup for batting was awarded to skipper Charlie Taylor and the Bert Cooper Cup for bowling went to the evergreen Pete Howard. Chris Pole again took the 2nd XI cup for batting and the tireless Scott Cooper won the Russell Newborn Cup for bowling. The 3rd XI cups went to Ben Coddington who received the Chris Holland Cup for batting and to Dharmist Bathia who won the Jim Palmer Cup for bowling.
Brian SutliffBrian Sutliff, pictured here, was presented with the George Pole Cup by Chairman John Fraser for his work over the last twelve months and also with a silver salver to mark his 50 years association with the club.
The Fred Fryer Cup for the Outstanding Batting Performance of the year was awarded for to Ben Coddington who at 15 years of age scored a century against Broomleys for the 1st XI. Not surprisingly Ben also took the Ted Toon Trophy for the Young Player of the Year. The Victor Pearce Shield for the Outstanding Bowling Performance of the year was won by Dave Tebbutt who took 6-20 for the Sunday XI against Queniborough and nearly turned the game on its head.
Winter nets start after Christmas in the build up to the 2015 season so watch this space for more details in the new year.
Roger Pole