Syston RFC Presentation Awards Evening

On Saturday 16th May the Syston Rugby Football Club held its annual presentation dinner in a large marquee outside the clubhouse. Around 160 people attended this celebration of the year in which the club has been successful at all levels. The junior sections held their event the previous weekend and celebrated the U13s being undefeated all season and gaining the title of Leicestershire Champions, the U14s were Leicestershire Plate runners-up and the U17s finished as Leicestershire County runners-up and Midlands plate runners-up. The mini section has gone from strength to strength winning trophies in the many different festivals they play in and continue to attract many children into the game.
The development 15 had a successful season finishing runners-up in their league with many players going on to play in the higher teams, the colts 15 ended up having a good season finishing fourth in their league. The first XV team finished the season Midlands 1 East Champions and are promoted to National division three with 26 wins and just 1 defeat and were also Leicestershire County cup runners-up. The second XV ended the season as Leicestershire second Team league champions and Leicestershire floodlit cup runners-up. The third XV finished the season as Leicestershire third team league runners up. So an excellent season for the club.
After the meal the following awards were presented: Syston 1st XV young player of the year; James Skerett. The most improved player of the year; Anthony O’Reilly. Players player of the year; Sam Henson who was also voted the coaches player of the year.
The Syston 2nd XV most improved player of the year; Cass Chapman. Clubman; Sam Henson and Player of the year; Will Rudkin. The Syston 3rd XV most improved player of the year; Nathan Thornton. Clubman; Adam Hurst and player of the year; Jack Wildsmith. The Syston development XV most improved player of the year; John Featherstone, clubman; Andy Kendrick and player of the year; Pat Simons. The club awards were presented for Clubman of the year; Greg Reid, Volunteer of the year; Chris Kilby and committee person of the year; Joan Newton. The club president Tony Edgeley gave a special award to Mrs Joan Newton in appreciation of her many years of loyal service to Syston RFC. See our photograph above left.