Syston Local History Group Annual Exhibition

The annual exhibition of the Syston Local history groups took place on Saturday 16th September and there were some new boards to explore.
One looked back at the history of Syston Cricket Club which can trace its roots back to 1904 when the current club began. It had a lot of interesting facts about how the club has grown and developed from that date and how it had moved around the town from the Cricket Field 1902 – 1929 and 1939 – 1949 which is now Central park, land on the Fosseway between 1930 – 1938, now part of the Hobby Horse estate and Memorial Park from 1949 – 1974 before finally moving to their current ground off of the Fosseway.
There was an interesting board about local bus company ‘Poles Buses’.
There was a feature on property sales, showing how properties have changed and prices increased. Plus a new enlarged photo of the Memorial Park, sometimes incorrectly referred to as donkey park. Memorial Park was purchased by donations from the residents and dedicated to residents who lost their lives in the two world wars. Today it is a well used sports ground maintained by Syston Town Council on behalf of the residents. A pavilion which is in need of refurbishment provides changing facilities for the footballers who play here. It is hoped this will be refurbished in the near future, finances permitting.
Millipix enlarged the photograph of Syston Village circa 1930’s , so the group thank them for doing such a good job.
This is always a very interesting event, whether you are a Systonian or new to the area. Well done to all involved in organising it.