New Barkby WI

New Barkby WI held their annual meeting at the beginning of November and was chaired by vice-president, Mrs A Montague.
Mrs K. Fryman was elected as president for the next year. The committee members will be Mesdames J. Brutnall, V.Cobb, S. Franklin, D. Haynes, A Montague, J. Oliver, P. Vernon-Wilson, A. Wright.
Tellers (from Barkby & Beeby WI) were Mrs K. Buck and Mrs J. Law. After business matters had been attended to; including reports of the minutes of the annual meeting 2016, officers were thanked for their efforts to keep the institute’s meetings run smoothly.
Afterwards, there was social time, with a bring-and-buy table of items.
The competition was won by Mrs V. Cobb with a New Barkby WI tablecloth. The raffle prizes were won by Mrs D. Haynes and Mrs A. Montague. The tea hostesses were Mrs B. Gamble and Mrs G. Baker.
The following week (add date) to celebrate the Institute’s 92nd Birthday, members enjoyed a meal at Park Hill Golf Club, near Seagrave.
The next meeting will be held on Wednesday 6th December, this will be a combined meeting and Christmas Party. Visitors are always welcome to attend, Syston community centre at 7.30pm.