Town C.C. Trophy Winners

Syston Town C.C. Junior Presentation Evening was held in the clubhouse at the end of the season when batting and bowling trophies were awarded to all age groups. Dominic Holland and Jai Kalyan took the Kwik Cricket batting and bowling awards. Cody Price and Mayella Rye-Holland were awarded the Under 11 Incrediball trophies and Rishi Sodha and Sachin Kalyan scooped the batting and bowling awards for the Under 11 Hardball team.
The Under 13 trophies went to George Royale (pictured left with team manager Steve Dealey) and Ewan Dealey and those for the Under 15 were won by Yash Kapda and James Tebbutt.
For the 1st XI the Archie Gandy Cup for batting was won by Ram Ghuman and the Bert Cooper Cup for bowling was shared between skipper Mo Pardesi and Vibhu Yadav who both took 33 wickets. Chris Pole won the 2nd XI batting cup and the bowling trophy went to Tosif Ravat. For the Sunday XI the Chris Holland Cup for batting and the Jim Palmer Cup for bowling were won by George Corbett and Ben Tebbutt respectively.
At the end of the season get-together the Chairman Ivan Spibey awarded the George Pole Trophy to Andy Woolaston for his work as Social Secretary and in particular for setting up the Ales and Bails beer festival which was a great success.
Eight senior players qualified for the award of a cap during the season; I. Patel (63 v Loughborough Town), V Yadav (6-39 v Barrow Town), S. Gulambasir (82 v Narborough & Littlethorpe), T. Ravat (63 v Shepshed), N. Jinasena (50 v Belvoir), R. Chandler (51 v Bingham), N. Reeves (77 v Belvoir), G. Royale (76 v Ashby Carington).
The club will be holding junior nets at Gateway College starting on 9th January through to 10th April and senior nets at the City Cricket Academy from 18th February to 1st April. Full details of all nets is available on the club’s website and Facebook page.
Roger Pole